Art (Heart or Destiny?)

Image

When I became a teenager I began to draw with colored pencils, creating many sketches such as the one above. In high school I was not very good at math or science, and I was given more art classes in place of math. When recruiters came to inspire students to go to college, I new that I wanted to go into art, being an artist, however I also wanted to go into something with computers. Believing that the future was in computers, I felt that I would have to go to a technology college. With my dilemma regarding colleges, my mother pointed out that there were colleges geared towards art and computers called graphic design. 

This was the beginning of my career in graphic design, I went to college and earned a degree. Continuing on with a job creating VHS (before DVD) labels and boxes, and moving on to magazines later on. As my career continued to move forward, I believed that this was my destiny, however I also began to think that I was losing my skills or talent at drawing or painting, as I found myself becoming more and more dependent on the computer. Through this dependency I started to become sad, if not a little angry or depressed, which caused me to become resentful with my graphic design work. I took 2 years off, becoming more involved with outdoor life, at which time I found myself sketching and painting again.

Which made my heart sing with joy. Following my heart I wanted to bring the artist that I am forward, following my destiny is allowing that art to be expressed in many forms, whether on canvas, through photography or on the computer.

Leave a Reply

